Hello, world.

Hello. I’m Ivy.  Like the plant.

Doodle 001

Well, even ivy vines have to start sprouting somewhere.

Ten things about me:

  1. I’m an 18-year-old kid who is about to go off to college. I’m pretty excited.
  2. I have black (dark brown?) hair that used to fall to my waist until I cut it.
  3. I wish to travel the world and learn different languages. Currently, I’m working on Spanish. A veces es difícil pero estoy aprendiendo.
  4. I write in a personal journal, sometimes in Petrarchan sonnetry. It calms me.
  5. The nerd in me is fascinated with the sciences, especially chemistry and physics. Yes, when I was a little kid, I wanted that periodic table of elements wooden table.
  6. Okay, so I never got said table, but I did learn to recite the elements in order. That was probably worth more than the wooden table itself.
  7. Drawing is awesome. If I get inspired, it is the best feeling in the world.
  8. My eyes need glasses because without them, everything is blurry. However, if I take off my glasses at night, the street lights and traffic lights become floating discs of flickering golds and reds in the darkness. It looks like bokeh photography, but I don’t need a camera and Photoshop to see it.
  9. “Bokeh-vision” is quite beautiful until I walk into a lamppost. I have walked into doors, into walls, into cars (I don’t mean through the door), but not into lampposts yet. I’ll keep you posted.
  10. Evidently, I am not perfect but I like the thought of self improvement. I might slip up sometimes, but I try to learn from mistakes. One of the reasons why I decided to draw (at the very least) a silly doodle every day was to prove to myself I could commit to something. So here I am. Let’s see where this goes. But…

…the most important thing about me is…

…my small obsession with the quality of patches of grass, because one of the nicest things in the world is laying on a patch of grass. If you find a good patch of grass, do let me know. And if you see a crazy person using a backpack as a pillow to lay in the grass, that is probably me.

Doodle 002

I wish most patches of grass were this green?!

If you ask me what I’m doing, I’ll probably tell you that I’m probably watching the clouds. From space, cloud-watchers probably seem like tiny specks staring up, up, up…

But isn’t nice how us tiny specks still try to spark changes in our world? Because while I don’t think a doodle a day can feed a hungry person or generate money for a family living below the poverty line, creating art is important, no matter how silly.

“The kick of creation is the act of creating, not anything that happens afterward.”

-Kurt Vonnegut

Little things like that are what move me and it does not take much to make me happy.

I’ll be fine, wherever I am, preferably in a place with a nice patch of grass.

 

Leave a comment