Doodle 047 | Petrarchan Attempts

CCF07132016_00000

Petrarch = Forever Alone

I decided to take inspiration from Francesco Petrarch, who wrote a series of passionate sonnetry for a woman named Laura. It is out of my comfort zone–being introverted and entirely nonchalant with any form of dating leaves me woefully unknowledgeable.

Nevertheless, I tried. It was amusing to try and think like Petrarch. Not wanting my work to go to waste, *sighs* here:

I feared speaking the truth, showing sign:

When you look at me and tell me no lies,

You brighten my world with your shining eyes,

But I cower when our lives intertwine.

Afar, I see your heart that I’d enshrine.

In my mind, it is you I’d canonize.

I speak not, yet my thoughts you’d recognize.

Friendship is fine, but romance is divine.

 

While my eyes succumb to their counterpart,

They memorize your scripture, but there’s more

Obscured beneath the flesh: a beating heart.

Amongst your lovers, you have at least one:

I, who cried your name, who to you, I swore.

But count lovers on my fingers: there are none.

Leave a comment